I had the unction to put salt around my front door last week after I came out of prayer.  I didn’t question what stirred in my spirit, I just did it.  I put salt in the two corners of the entryway to the front door and holy anointing oil. Every time I entered or exited my home there was a clean and fresh aroma on the doorsteps.  After a few days I began to wonder what the sprinkling of the salt meant and I went to the most convenient resource:  Google!  This search resulted in pages of demonic rituals that had associations with black magic, voodoo, hoodoo, etc.  I began to wonder if I should go straight home and wash my front porch off and repent…

I did not open any of the pages from the google search once I saw that the introductions linked the website to demonic avenues.  However, I didn’t feel pressed to “wash” my porch off either.

While sitting in my car a few days later, I opened my bible and began to read a very familiar passage of scripture, 2 Kings 2: 1-25.  I was reading the Amplified version of my bible when I came across  verses 18-22:

18 They returned to Elisha while he was staying at Jericho; and he said to them, “Did I not tell you, ‘Do not go’?”19 Then the men of the city said to Elisha, “Look, this city is in a pleasant place, as my lord [Elisha] sees; but the water is bad and the land is barren.” 20 He said, “Bring me a new jar, and put salt [the symbol of God’s purifying power] in it.” So they brought it to him. 21 Then Elisha went to the spring of water and threw the salt in it and said, “Thus says the Lord: ‘I [not the salt] have purified and healed these waters; there shall no longer be death or barrenness because of it.’” 22 So the waters have been purified to this day, in accordance with the word spoken by Elisha.

Glory to God Almighty! For He is faithful and just to reveal truth to His people.  The revelation that flowed from this passage of scripture blessed my soul.  The enemy tried to twist my thoughts concerning the unction that I received and acted upon last week.  His ultimate goal was to “try” to convince me that what I did was associated with the demonic so that I could go home and wash the salt and anointing oil off of my doorpost.  I was in error when I searched for truth on the internet, I should have searched the hidden and infinite wisdom of God-the Scriptures.

When I read that the salt is a symbol of God’s purifying power, I came into agreement with what was already taking place in the spiritual realm concerning my household.  God knows what His children need and He promises in His Word that  “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow Me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand “John 10: 27-28. 

Let’s look a little further… purify means to remove contaminants from; extract something from; to make ceremonially clean.  It is synonymous with clean, decontaminate, to cleanse, refine, filter, clarify, freshen, deodorize, sanitize, purge, unburden, sanctify, redeem, disinfect, deliver.  Take notice that the waters were purified AND healed! Heal means to make healthy, whole, or sound; restore to health; free from ailment.  To bring to an end or conclusion, as conflicts between people or groups, usually with the strong implication of restoring former amity; settle; reconcile.

For the past two years my household has been in turmoil.  I’m talking about trouble that has been coming from within.  This is the kind of trouble that you cannot run away from because it is IN your house!  But today I decree and declare that my home is purified AND healed in the Name of Jesus!

salt2

YOU ARE THE SALT OF THE EARTH…

Leave a comment